[CONCERT] Adieu Romantique: A Passing Farewell to the Fung Ping Shan Building

24/08/2018 -
13:10 - 13:55

Date: Friday, 24 August 2018
Time: 13:10-13:55 (45 minutes)
Venue: Drake Gallery, 1/F, Fung Ping Shan Building, University Museum and Art Gallery, HKU, 90 Bonham Road, Pokfulam
Cost: Free admission. Registration required. Please click here: https://goo.gl/9MytCv
Performers: Alice Lam, Jocelyn Lau, Shannon Ho, William Lai

Dedicated in 1932, the Fung Ping Shan Building has long been a Hong Kong landmark both because of its historical value as well as its cultural and academic history within the University of Hong Kong. As part of the building's recent declaration as an official Hong Kong monument, Fung Ping Shan Building will be closed until spring 2019 in order to undergo renovation work.

We would like to invite you to join us in the Drake Gallery for a concert before the renovation work commences. The concert will include chamber music by significant composers from various eras, including Brahms, Schumann, Paganini, Handel/ Halvorsen and Piazzolla. We will look through the kaleidoscope into different musical styles and genres to commemorate the art scene and spirit of this majestic building. The final piece of the program – Brahms’ Piano Quartet No. 3, Op. 60, holds up our hope and faith that the Fung Ping Shan Building will continue to serve as a vibrant cultural hub for HKU and the broader Hong Kong community.

PAGANINI - "Cantabile", Op. 17, MS 109
HANDEL/ HALVORSEN - Passacaglia in G minor
PIAZZOLLA - Four Seasons of Buenos Aires - Winter
SCHUMANN - Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op. 47 - III: Andante cantabile
BRAHMS - Piano Quartet No. 3, Op. 60 - I: Allegro non troppo; II: Scherzo: Allegro